Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics
 
   
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
   Log inLog in 
Element 40Le45Q - Dead, Blue light    
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair
 
Author Message
bobby d



Joined: 20 Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Location: pa

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:21 pm    Post subject: Element 40Le45Q - Dead, Blue light Reply with quote

Hello,
I have an Element LCD TV 40LE45Q that is dead but showing a blue LED when plugged in. None of the buttons on the side of the TV do anything. When the TV is plugged in I get all the correct voltages out of the power supply board, however the one standby wire is showing 2.5V and it lists the working voltage as 5V. The relay on the power supply is not clicking. I'm trying to narrow it down as to which board to replace, as I can get either the power supply or the main board for under $40. AYP427101 is the power supply board number. The tv worked fine up until last night. Thanks Bob
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

+5V should be five volts (with set ON).
+5VSB should be 5 volts ALL the time set is plugged in.

bobby d wrote:
the one standby wire is showing 2.5V


IF this is either of the two I mentioned, you may have a power supply problem. Be sure to check for any puffed electrolytics.

IF this 2.5V is on the fifth pin up on CN1, I believe this should be PSON and if so it should toggle from one voltage value in standby to a different voltage value when you press the POWER button.
bobby d



Joined: 20 Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Location: pa

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick response. The 5th pin (in STB+5V) is the one showing 2.5 volts (gray wire) . The tv is locked in on position, so I found there was no change in voltage by hitting the power button. I do not see any puffed caps or visible damage. The relay is not clicking at all, so I'm thinking the problem is the PSB as well. Do you think I should move ahead and replace that board? Thanks so much for your help. Bob
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In your first post, I'll assume by having all voltages, you were including 12V & 24V.

Unplug CN1 and see which, if any, PINS on the Power Supply have voltage. (Should ONLY have +5VSB).
Next, reconnect CN1.
See if there is a way to float your gray wire. Some connectors are easier than others to figure out how to release a single pin without damage to that one pin or surrounding housing. If you must, cut the wire in a convenient location where it will be easy to strip and splice it back together.
Measure the voltage on the grey wire, BOTH the end that goes to the Power Supply and the end that goes to the Main Board. See IF voltage on the end that goes to the Main Board changes when Power button is pressed.
IF voltage on gray wire remains at 2.5 AND still doesn't change with Power button, your Main board would be a prime candidate.
bobby d



Joined: 20 Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Location: pa

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JTS1957 wrote:
In your first post, I'll assume by having all voltages, you were including 12V & 24V.
Yes, the only off voltage was the gray wire reading 2.5V instead of 5V.

JTS1957 wrote:
Unplug CN1 and see which, if any, PINS on the Power Supply have voltage. (Should ONLY have +5VSB).
One of the STB pins has 5V.
JTS1957 wrote:
Next, reconnect CN1.
See if there is a way to float your gray wire. Some connectors are easier than others to figure out how to release a single pin without damage to that one pin or surrounding housing. If you must, cut the wire in a convenient location where it will be easy to strip and splice it back together.
Measure the voltage on the grey wire, BOTH the end that goes to the Power Supply and the end that goes to the Main Board. See IF voltage on the end that goes to the Main Board changes when Power button is pressed.

I cut the gray wire the side connected to PSB reads 0V, the side of the gray wire connected to the Main Board reads 5V. Hitting the power button does not change these readings. Just wondering does the Main Board send a message back to PSB to make the relay click?
JTS1957 wrote:

IF voltage on gray wire remains at 2.5 AND still doesn't change with Power button, your Main board would be a prime candidate.
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobby d wrote:
does the Main Board send a message back to PSB to make the relay click?


Usual chain of events: PS sends B-plus to Main - Microprocessor on Main gets either a manual or remote signal to turn on and then directs PS (among other things) to supply remaining voltages.

I don't see a relay in the pictures of the PS I have access to. Unless its under a heat sink.
bobby d



Joined: 20 Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Location: pa

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OKay thanks, so do you still think the main board (motherboard) is the problem? Thanks, if so, I will get it ordered and get back to you. Bob
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JTS1957 wrote:
Main board would be a prime candidate.
bobby d



Joined: 20 Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Location: pa

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I got the board and installed it. Unfortunately, the board was for an AWA LC32G-76 Tv. The tv will work if I hit the volume button to turn it on, but now my remote does not work. Is there a way to program my remote or should I find the board for my tv. (this one was listed as working for my tv model. Thanks. Bob
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Disclaimer: All information provided by RiddledTV is strictly for information purposes only. Please observe all warnings displayed on your electronic
devices. This information should only be used to help diagnose work, and all service should be performed by a qualified technician.
Contact Us       Privacy Policy       Copyright © 2015 RiddledTV.com       Advertise on RiddedTV.com