Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
Hitachi 57F59A - Power LED - Relay Click - No picture   Goto page 1, 2  Next  

Frankie

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:28 pm    Post subject: Hitachi 57F59A - Power LED - Relay Click - No picture Reply with quote

Hitachi 57" CRT RPTV
Model 57F59A
Chassis DP65G

Hey guys and girls, I'm sure you hear it constantly, but first time poster here with a broken TV that needs some help. I'm familiar with working on electronics as I'm a tube amplifier hobbyist, but I really don't even know where to start trying to diagnose this TV. I also don't want to start poking around until I understand the capacitor discharge method for this thing. I've been whacked by a tube amp before, that's no fun!

Okay, so onto the problem, I have a Hitachi 57F59A CRT RPTV here that won't display anything. The set powers on, I can hear the relay click, I can hear the audio amplifier working (it just hisses, I don't hear any actual signal), the LED on the front illuminates, but I can't get anything on the screen. None of the buttons on the remote or on the front of the TV bring up the menu or channels or anything.

I pulled the back panel and checked the 3 fuses on the board on the right hand side; they all tested for continuity on my meter. What I did notice is that there's a diagnostic panel inside the TV showing the location of an LED on that board. No matter what the LED isn't lit, I don't know if that's relevant.

So yeah, that's where I'm at now. I got the set open, I got my meter, I got my toolbox, I even got my soldering iron nearby... I just don't know where to start. Help! And thanks in advance.

Also, here are some pictures I took of inside the set. They're high res, but still crappy cell phone pics, so I'm just posting links to them in case you're on a slow connection.

http://www.cowboymafia.net/frankie/tv/1.jpg
http://www.cowboymafia.net/frankie/tv/2.jpg