Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics
 
   
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
   Log inLog in 
LG 60PN6500 - Main board    
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair
 
Author Message
japjrthib



Joined: 15 Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Location: N.O.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 11:58 am    Post subject: LG 60PN6500 - Main board Reply with quote

Hey guys I'm looking for a little help... I have an LG 60" 60PN6500. The HDMI port on the side of the TV came unsoldered and was pushed in past the plastic housing. At first it was just loose and the TV would still work. I should have put a piece of electrical tape covering the hole, but I didn't and the kids tried to use it and pushed it in all the way causing it to break off and ground out on the board I'm guessing. Now the power light doesn't even come on. I took the back off of the TV and noticed where the port did touch and scratch the board a little. I did search the Internet and found the replacement board. From the looks of it all I would have to do is unplug the board, unscrew it, screw the new one in and plug it in... Sound correct? My other question is; is there a fuse that could have blown? Could the power supply board be shot also? I don't want to replace the board with the HDMI port on it and try to turn the TV on and mess anything else up. Is there something I can do to troubleshoot any other issues it may have? I'm no electronic repair man, but I'm pretty mechanical and can look at most things and figure out how to fix it. Looking at the guts of this TV, it doesn't look too complicated. Seems like just changing a board out is plug and play, but as I said I don't want to mess anything else up or mess this new board up by not knowing how to diagnose if there is indeed another problem from this port grounding out. Do you all have any advice for me before I move further and order this new board??? Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks, Kasey


Last edited by japjrthib on Sun Nov 15, 2015 3:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2305
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TV repair/troubleshooting is a step by step process.
In the old days, you would pull the service literature, find out which line(s) have shorts, see if the shorts remain with the suspect board removed and trace remaining short(s) back to power source involved.
At some point you will have to replace the suspect board (IF you can find a 'new/known good' one, otherwise a take 'em at their word 'It's Good' one will have to be tried.
japjrthib



Joined: 15 Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Location: N.O.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply. I'm actually having an extremely hard time finding stock on this board. I found it at 2 places online and I sent emails just to confirm they have it in stock. This must be a common problem if I have to search through 4 Google pages to find one in stock.

So, before I go to those lengths. Can you tell me if there is a fuse (the TV is being stored so I don't have it apart in front of me), and can u also advise to if it is "OK" for me to change this main board and replace the fuse if there is one and then try to power it on and see if it works? Or will that possibly mess something up again?? I assume that when the hdmi port grounded it probably just popped the fuse. This TV had very very little use at the time this happened and I've only had it for 2 years. It's been broken for over a year. As I said, it has probably only a few hours of run time on it at most.

I was able to easily locate a new power supply board and that's only $47. If they have stock on the main board that's $130. I'm not too confident on how to troubleshoot and diagnose if I have a problem with the power supply board so do you think I can just try to replace the main board, then if it doesn't work just replace the power supply board? I'm guessing there is a fuse located on the power board...? Also is there some kind of way to "reset" things. Maybe holding one or more of the buttons or something?
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2305
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two fuses visible on top side of PS. One appears to be AC fuse and other main DC at bridge. Connectors do indicate some voltages.

According to Shop Jimmy, there appears to be at least three Main boards that could have been used.
japjrthib



Joined: 15 Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Location: N.O.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that.

I thought it showed out of stock. I didn't see any replacement part numbers....
Would you mind posting links to the ones that are replaceable?
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2305
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mostly use Shop Jimmy as a high def photo source to one or both sides of a board. Whether they're IN Stock or not, the photos still exist.
http://www.shopjimmy.com/lg/60pn6500-ua
rynoinaz



Joined: 26 Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Location: AZ

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 2:36 pm    Post subject: resoultion? Reply with quote

hi. i've encountered the same problem. did you ever resolve it? what happened?
thx!
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Disclaimer: All information provided by RiddledTV is strictly for information purposes only. Please observe all warnings displayed on your electronic
devices. This information should only be used to help diagnose work, and all service should be performed by a qualified technician.
Contact Us       Privacy Policy       Copyright © 2015 RiddledTV.com       Advertise on RiddedTV.com