Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics
 
   
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
   Log inLog in 
Mag ma-32ef1ac gets no picture    
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair
 
Author Message
dicepackage



Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Detroit

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:33 pm    Post subject: Mag ma-32ef1ac gets no picture Reply with quote

32 Inch LCD
Model:Mag 3200 more specifically ma-32ef1ac
Condition: Backlight works but no picture/audio and non-responsive

I recently acquired a Mag 3200 model ma-32ef1ac that is not functioning. I received this broken and I don't know the history behind it. When I plug in the tv I get the normal red light and the backlight flickers. When I go to power on the tv by remote the backlight comes on and the power button becomes blue. Normally when the tv is turned on it flashes the Mag logo but it does not do this. The tv is then unresponsive and can't be shut down. There is no picture and no audio just the backlight.

I uploaded a picture of the back panel removed here:
http://i31.tinypic.com/2ii8nxu.jpg

I tested out the voltages on the left with a multimeter and the voltages all registered correctly. The 24V flashed about 20ish volts and then went to zero. The black thing (capacitor?) is making a slight hum or at least I think that is what is making the noise. I have never repaired tvs before so any help is greatly appreciated.
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

dicepackage



Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Detroit

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After further testing the 24V connection is working fine, I had the multimeter set wrong. Does that mean the power supply is fully functional if all the DC output voltages are correct?
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds right to me. Smile
dicepackage



Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Detroit

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is what I did to fix the problem in case this helps anyone else:

Before I removed the old JL321XA main board I took a picture of everything connected to refer to in case I had any problems reconnecting anything. I ordered the GT321XA-BH Polaroid board from shopjimmy.com. When I installed it I made sure to reconnect everything the way it was before. I also made sure that the jumper was in the up position to make sure it was getting the correct voltage. The jumper was in the exact same place but had a sticker over it so I didn't see it at first. I reconnected everything and at first nothing happened. I realized I didn't push the board in far enough and the parallel port looking connection on the back wasn't fully connected. I screwed the back panel in a bit to get some of the parts to stay in place and it worked when I powered it on. I also had to use a rotary cutter (dremel) to make room for the HDMI ports. It looks kind of ugly but it works. The only difference is it now thinks it is running a Polaroid board. Picture in picture no longer works with this board but on the plus side there is a second HDMI port. It also thinks I have a card reader and USB in the source options even though they aren't there.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Disclaimer: All information provided by RiddledTV is strictly for information purposes only. Please observe all warnings displayed on your electronic
devices. This information should only be used to help diagnose work, and all service should be performed by a qualified technician.
Contact Us       Privacy Policy       Copyright © 2015 RiddledTV.com       Advertise on RiddedTV.com