Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics
 
   
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
   Log inLog in 
Magnavox 32me402v/F7 - not turning on.    
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair
 
Author Message
Talktomelikim5



Joined: 25 May 2016
Posts: 1
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 11:02 am    Post subject: Magnavox 32me402v/F7 - not turning on. Reply with quote

I have a Magnavox 32me402v/F7. The TV was on when a strike of lighting caused a power outage. When the power came back on everything else in the house ( 2 other TV's included ) came back on with no problems. The Magnavox was plugged in to a surge protector (albeit a cheap one) but still refuses to turn on. We have left it unplugged for a span of time then tried, we have unplugged/replugged it multiple times, and we have tried different outlets to no avail. I figured, what's the harm in pulling the back off and taking a look inside. It already doesn't turn on, could I make it much worse? So upon investigation there is what appears to be a fuse that looks burnt. It is a clear tube type thing located near the power cord.

Now, I will say that I am not tech savvy or mechanically inclined, so feel free to follow my screen name and talk to me like I'm 5. I need to know if this could be causing the problem. If so how do I go about getting a new one and replacing it? Is it worth the effort? It seems incredibly simple but I could just be painfully naive.

I have links to pictures but I don't know if I am posting them correctly so I appointment advance if I did it wrong.

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c171/angel1232000/Mobile%20Uploads/20160525_112711_zpsqdxo8fah.jpg

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c171/angel1232000/Mobile%20Uploads/20160525_112400_zpsl8hibzra.jpg

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c171/angel1232000/Mobile%20Uploads/20160525_112149_RichtoneHDR_zpsmhztmszy.jpg
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2286
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to replace the 4 Amp 125 Volt fuse, you can, but I wouldn't be surprised if it blows it again. If it does, I would expect one or more of the 4 diodes above the AC cord or the FET on the 'L' shaped heat sink to be shorted.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Disclaimer: All information provided by RiddledTV is strictly for information purposes only. Please observe all warnings displayed on your electronic
devices. This information should only be used to help diagnose work, and all service should be performed by a qualified technician.
Contact Us       Privacy Policy       Copyright © 2015 RiddledTV.com       Advertise on RiddedTV.com