Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics
 
   
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
   Log inLog in 
Olevia 542-B11 LCD - No Pict No sound - only blue powerlight   Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair
 
Author Message
TonyC1



Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:01 pm    Post subject: Olevia 542-B11 LCD - No Pict No sound - only blue powerlight Reply with quote

Just stopped working - no smoke no flashing codes????
It was a nice 42 inch LCD -checked fuse -ok - I also removed & checked all the caps on the power supply - All seem good (although there were two reading low - 1000uf 35v - there are a grp of 3 on the secondary portion of the board - one read 990 but other two were 975 & 965 - is this significant??)

Any help to fix this is greatly appreciated! I have read that they are tough to get parts for.

FYI - not trained in electronics but did fix a previous tv based on this website & discussion with a couple techs - especially Jesse.
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NOT significant. Bulging/Physically Leaking/Value is not only defects a cap can have.
Did you replace all of the following (less than $10.00)?
CS21 1500ufd 16Volt, CS22 1000ufd 16Volt, CS28 100ufd 25Volt, CS18 100ufd 25Volt, CS23 680ufd 25Volt, CS8 680ufd 25Volt, CS19 1000ufd 35Volt, CS25 1000ufd 35Volt, CS7 1000ufd 35Volt & CS24 470ufd 35Volt.
TonyC1



Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:32 pm    Post subject: Replacing caps Reply with quote

You have a point - I may as well replace them all just to be sure. I'll let you know what happens.

Thanks

Who do you recommend to buy these from?
kuhurdler



Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2855
Location: Overland Park, KS

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mouser or digikey
TonyC1



Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:03 pm    Post subject: Caps replaced Reply with quote

CAPs replaced - All but the very large one(not on your list - 220uf 450volt - C1) - see pict where tape is - blue
Still a no go -only blue light on front - no pict - no sound

I want to test to see if the outputs to the cables of the PS board are ok so I took picts of them - To test the voltages labeled - where do I put my meter ground & to which pin should I get 24V or 5V or 18V as they are labeled? All of them in the 24v area? etc

DCV I presume?

Thanks again for any advice.



Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

TonyC1



Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:05 pm    Post subject: oops doubled up one pict Reply with quote

Here is the other pict of cable labels

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GND = ground.
5Vs should be 5 volts Stand-by (there all time set plugged in)
5V should be 5 volts (there with Set Running)
There is also a On/Off voltage and a backlight brightness voltage (pix slightly out of focus hard to make out).

18V & 24V should be 18 volts & 24 volts (there with set running) Reference their own GND just for convenience.
TonyC1



Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:29 pm    Post subject: New power supply Reply with quote

So I got a new power supply - now I have a problem - I forgot to label the cables from the side panels - CNS3 & CNS 4 - which goes to the left/right side??? Their connectors on the power supply are the same. If I guess wrong what will happen? anyone with schematic - help!!

Thanks!
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look on foil side at connectors - I think you'll find they're in parallel. Cool
TonyC1



Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:19 am    Post subject: Problem Reply with quote

Well I got a replacemnt power supply from shopjimmy.com - it does not appear to be putting out voltage either. I have been taking the voltages with the board on the bench & not connected to the tv in any way- is this correct?

The 24 volt (CNS3 & 4)& 18 volts (CNS2) - both show nothing & 5volts CNS1 ( only showing 2.5 mvolts)- exception is the 5 volts on CNS1 (small label on left side of connector) is showing 5 volts. This is the same as my orig PS.

When connected to tv, the upper board (non power supply) does show a small red LED on & the power light of tv is lit (Blue). No response to power button or remote.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Tony
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 


Disclaimer: All information provided by RiddledTV is strictly for information purposes only. Please observe all warnings displayed on your electronic
devices. This information should only be used to help diagnose work, and all service should be performed by a qualified technician.
Contact Us       Privacy Policy       Copyright © 2015 RiddledTV.com       Advertise on RiddedTV.com