Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics
 
   
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
   Log inLog in 
Panasonic TC-P50C2 won't power up   Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair
 
Author Message
Rockguy



Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Location: usa

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2015 2:19 pm    Post subject: Panasonic TC-P50C2 won't power up Reply with quote

Panasonic TC-P50C2 just shut off while watching. No light blinks or nothing. Dead. I have taken the back off and looked at the power supply. I don't see bulging caps. I am going to run a continuity test on the fuses. The power board number is MPF6904A. I have a multimeter and soldering iron. I may just order a new board but, I'd like to find the service manual and possibly repair this one as a spare. Is it likely just the caps? I could just replace them all. They should be marked with values.

Also at diffferent times the HDMI ports ceased working. I got around this by just using the component connection. Still gives HD. Is it possible it could be that board causing no power? Set is 2 or 3 yrs old.
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2286
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2015 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://elektrotanya.com/?q=showresult&what=panasonic%20%22TC-P50C2%22&kategoria=&kat2=schematics

PCB N0AB5JK00001 CIRCUIT BOARD P
http://www.shopjimmy.com/panasonic-n0ab5jk00001-p-board.htm

(Check the SD card slot for metal objects. Check also for bended pins. Make sure that connector P6 on the P board is properly connected.
Check all the connections between the P board and the A board. Make sure P7/A7 is properly seated. Plug in the TV and turn it on.)

Do the AC relays click after pressing the power switch? IF NO:

Is there approx. 3.2VDC at pin 5 of connector P7 on the P board when the power button is pressed?


Last edited by JTS1957 on Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:32 pm; edited 2 times in total
Rockguy



Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Location: usa

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2015 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much JTS1957! No I do not hear any relays click. The TV is my Dads so I will have to go over there tomorrow (Monday) and check that voltage. I did look up that board on shopjimmy but, I'm glad I posted before ordering. I want to make sure it's bad before I order a new one.
Rockguy



Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Location: usa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: I checked pin 5 and it only went to 0.02 do volts. I did verify 120 volts on the P board at the A/C connector. Looks like it's labeled P9. Fuses checked good. Bad power board?
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2286
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check edits in my prior post ...

Is there 5VDC at pin 1 of connector A7 at plug in?
YES= Replace A board
NO= Replace P board
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

Rockguy



Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Location: usa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JTS1957 wrote:
Check edits in my prior post ...

Is there 5VDC at pin 1 of connector A7 at plug in?
YES= Replace A board
NO= Replace P board


When I plug it in or, when I push the power button? I did check pin 1 of connector P7 on the power board and 5VDC was there. You want me to check pin 1 on the A board (the one with HDMI and component connections) correct?
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2286
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Plug it in"
P="Power"
A="Input"

I don't understand why troubleshooting tree states it as I posted. I would have done it in reverse.
They want to see if standby 5 volts (made by P board) reaches A board to have a chance at providing standby 3.3VDC (BOTH ends of the harness should have 5Volts - which means they also have a error in the stated voltage?)
Rockguy



Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Location: usa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 4.96 VDC at pin 1 of connector A7. I also have 4.96 at pin 1 of P7 which stands to reason because there is a wire connecting the two points. The 4.96 is traveling over that wire.
Rockguy



Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Location: usa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why nothing at pin 5 of connector P7 when I push the power button? That wouldn't indicate a bad P board? Is this tree in the service manual? All I see for no power with no red light is check fuses
Rockguy



Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Location: usa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There must be a test that confirms whether the power board is good or bad
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 


Disclaimer: All information provided by RiddledTV is strictly for information purposes only. Please observe all warnings displayed on your electronic
devices. This information should only be used to help diagnose work, and all service should be performed by a qualified technician.
Contact Us       Privacy Policy       Copyright © 2015 RiddledTV.com       Advertise on RiddedTV.com