Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
RCA 27F554T    

belay70

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:32 pm    Post subject: RCA 27F554T Reply with quote

Im a novice here, completely unqualified to work on this tv, but Im not in a position to refuse. Ive been a technician for movie projectors for the last 3 years, so Im not completely in the dark about electrical components and how to troubleshoot.

The tv above turns on fine, then shuts itself off after a minute or two. I am able to turn it back on, but again, it turns off shortly thereafter. My question is are there any commonly replaced components such as the low voltage/high voltage power supplies for these rca tube tv's?

I can order parts and he'll pay for them, so cost isnt an issue, but I am hoping to repair this and be done with it.

Im hesitant to replace the whole board, fearing I will have to calibrate and adjust quite a few things to bring it to an operational state - is that right?

I dont even know where to put my meter leads to take readings on the power supplies - the only reason I suspect them is that its a power issue.

Is there a controller of some sort I should look at first, and how do I test/read it?

I would be very grateful for any advice fellas. thanks.

Mike

ps - forgot to mention that I have opened it up and looked at the circuit board, but could not see any caps that might have burst.
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

belay70

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also - I forgot to ask how to go about taking measurements on items on the board - I assume to get readings you'd need the set plugged into power and turned on? Or simply plugged in, and turned off?
JTS1957

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found on the web:
Set will come on and play good picture for about 30-45 seconds then shutdown.