TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics
 
  Advertise Here  
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
   Log inLog in 
Sanyo DP32649 w/ no picture   Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair
 
Author Message
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes,
My power supply does have 120vac power going into it but it
is not producing 24V, 12V that goes to the main board that has
my video inputs to it. I guess it my power supply is bad and the
only choice I have is to replace it if I want to fix the TV? Unless
you have another ideal I can try?
Thank you,
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 1593
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you do not appear to be answering questions fully, I guess I'll ask them one step at a time.

The power supply should produce a standby 5 volts from when the set it first plugged in, during any turn on attempts, all the way until the set is unplugged.

Does it do this?
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I measured 5V inbetween pins labeled 5V and a pin labeled
SGND when the unit is plugged in.
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 1593
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are any of the connector pins labeled, PSON, PSEN, Enable, BLON, etc.?
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PSON IS ON 1 PIN.
The other labels you mentioned are not on this connector.

The following labels are on the connector I am measuring.
PSON uses 1 pin
SGND uses 2 pins
5V uses 2 pins
SGND uses 2 pins
12V uses 2 pins
SGND uses 2 pins
24V uses 2 pins.
There is 13 pins on this connector.

Thank you,
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 1593
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm presuming the two pins on that connector are 5 volt "all time."

Monitor PSON pin:

In standby= ? Volts
When Power button pushed only once = ? volts
IF not a steady voltage, report.
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I plugged the set in and measured PSON pin and got 0 volts.
(I guess that is standby mode). I then pushed the power
button once and got 0 volts again. I measured my voltage
from a SGND pin to PSON pin.
Is this the correct way to do it?
Thank you,
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 1593
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IF
you have 5 volts standby on "5V uses 2 pins"
AND
you have NO "PSON uses 1 pin"

The main board is likely the culprit.

IF
12V uses 2 pins & 24V uses 2 pins - if both sources do not indicate a low resistance reading.

IF
both sources read a couple hundred ohms (or more) and if you're game, you can try MOMENTARILY connecting 5VSB to PSON. You should observe a "change" in operation, maybe even a release of "Magic Smoke."
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let rephrase & describe my connector.
(note I am changing the word used to has).

PSON has 1 pin
SGND has 2 pins (1 pair)
5V has 2 pins (1 pair)
SGND has 2 pins (1 pair)
12V has 2 pins (1 pair)
SGND has 2 pins (1 pair)
24V has 2 pins. (1 pair)

Two pin sets mention above are marked off
in pairs but I do not find any voltage measurments
inbetween pairs.

So I think SGND means Signal Ground??
So I measured from one of the SGND pins to one of the 5 volt pins to
get a measurement. I measured from one of the SGND pins to PSON pin and found no voltage measurements.

Note that I had to disconnect a cable that goes from the PS to
the motherboard in order to make measurements. That is the
only way I can have access to the pins on the PS board?

Maybe I need to look for another place to make voltage measurments?

Also when I disconnect the cable form the PS to the Motherboard the on/off green diode on the front of the set never comes on.

Is this the correct way of doing it.

If I disconnected a cable that goes from the PS to the motherboard,
would that take the motherboard out of consideration for now?

Thank you,
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 1593
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

13 pin connector - of course, the pin numbers could be backwards

Pin 1 = PSON = 0 volts at all times
Pin 2 = SGND = signal ground - ANY SGND is interchangeable - Metal chassis should also be GND
Pin 3 = SGND = signal ground
Pin 4 = 5V = 5 volts standby = 5 volts present at ALL times (with set plugged in obviously)
Pin 5 = 5V = 5 volts standby = 5 volts present at ALL times (with set plugged in obviously)
Pin 6 = SGND = signal ground
Pin 7 = SGND = signal ground
Pin 8 = 12V ONLY when PSON is present
Pin 9 = 12V ONLY when PSON is present
Pin 10 = SGND = signal ground
Pin 11 = SGND = signal ground
Pin 12 = 24V ONLY when PSON is present
Pin 13 = 24V ONLY when PSON is present

IS THIS CORRECT?

IF the photos you posted are accurate, I would have no problem measuring with all plugs plugged in from the TOP side of the connectors.
Consider "finer" DVM probes or grinding your existing.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 


Disclaimer: All information provided by RiddledTV is strictly for information purposes only. Please observe all warnings displayed on your electronic
devices. This information should only be used to help diagnose work, and all service should be performed by a qualified technician.
Contact Us       Privacy Policy       Copyright © 2013 RiddledTV.com       Advertise on RiddedTV.com