Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics
 
   
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
   Log inLog in 
Sanyo DP32649 w/ no picture   Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair
 
Author Message
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 1:48 pm    Post subject: Sanyo DP32649 w/ no picture Reply with quote

I have a Sanyo DP32649 HDTV that does not give a picture. I see the green light go on when I power on with the remote but I don't see anything else. Where do I start to trouble shoot this device?

The guy that I bought this device for said it work but I am unsure
he was correct but I don't know much about flats screens.

He said that it was last worked with direct TV. He said that it
was connect with video leads. All I get is a black screen when
I connect it to WOW cable. Any suggestions?

Where should I start to check it out.

Thank you,
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2347
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried applying a signal via the video leads?
Or cycling through the set's various inputs with World Of Warcraft cable connected and "on."?
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I have not done those steps.
So should I attach a VCR to it via a video cable to it and see if that
works. What is a "World Of Warcraft cable". I have worked on computers
but I have not do much with flat screen TV's so I am a beginner.
I have a blue ray player. Could I connect use the video inputs
form it?
Let me know.
Thank you,
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I connect my blue ray video player to it and did not get anyting.
I power it up in a dark room and did not see anything other than
the little green LED on the bottem of the unit.
Any other suggestions?
Thank you,
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2347
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You (or I) have no idea what Input or Station the television was on when it was last turned off/unplugged.
If you connect a VCR to it (the antenna input or threaded "thingy") and start a tape playing, you know the VCR is outputting on channel 3 (or 4), but you still don't know what station the TV is tuned to (IF the television tuner is the active source).

IF you have NOT pressed the "Input" key and "the guy you bought this device for(?)" wasn't telling a lie (about the unit being in working condition), then all you should have to do is connect the "video leads" from/to your blue ray player. Some audio leads might also be nice.

Edit: Then that guy told a fib.
Any dim image when a flashlight is held near screen surface?
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what I should do is to connect the blue ray to a working TV then
make sure it is giving output signal to a working TV. Then connect it to
the non working HDTV using the coxal input or video inputs?

What is an input station? So it might be on the wrong input
station? Could that be a probem here?
There is a key that says input on the remote. Should I use
use the "Input key" on the remote to change inputs?
Is that what I should do?

I have not done the flash light test. How do you do that?

I would like to try one thing at a time then report it to you
for farther instructions. Let me know what to do.

Thank you,
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2347
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

God blessed you if you were able to obtain a blue ray player with RF Output. I didn't think they made them. Laughing

So far "I" have NOT mentioned a "Input Station," so not sure what you mean.

If you aren't sure blue ray is working or you are unfamiliar with it, yes go ahead and try it on a working TV first.

1) connect the blue ray via RCA-type audio/video cables Yellow/Red/White if BOTH blue ray & TV support, otherwise Component-type Red/Green/Blue plus White/Red and start it playing.
2) using the remote press power, wait a few seconds then press the Input key on remote repeatedly, (about once every 5-10 seconds) look/listen for what you have playing in blue ray.

Flashlight test is done with LCD sets that play sound but does not have lit screen or screen lights momentarily the goes out with sound still playing. I hold flashlight face about 1/4" away from screen while looking an inch or so around the outside of the beam for any motion (Dim picture).
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The blue ray has a red-yellow-blue video cord that comes out of it.
I used the blueray setup menu so to show a picture on the working TV.
Maybe I am better of with a VCR. I might have one sitting around
some where.
I am thinking the guy lied to me because it apprears to me that
the screen is not getting any power. I took the back off of it and
looked of bad caps but everything appears nice and clean on the
circuit board.
I powered the unit up in a dark room and I did not see any light
coming from the screen.
I am still checking it so any other advice is helpful. Maybe it is
the Input Station problem is a possability?

Thank you,
muckmail



Joined: 15 Oct 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, I connected the blue ray to the unit and pushed the input button
several times with no results. I also pushed the reset button on the remote. Nothing.

I took a flash light and put next to the screen. I did not see any differance or changes in the screen when I tuned the unit on and off so I guess it failed the flash light test.

So I think things are looking bad and it appears to me that I have been
lied to.

Again it appears that there is no power to the screen. I am experieced
enough to look inside it and I have the meters to check it but I will
need instructions on that if that is a possablility.

Any suggestions? Is it worth my time to sell it for parts or something.
Maybe for 10 or 20 bucks on ebay to recover some lost? Maybe it
is time to donate it to the goodwell and take a full lost?

Any suggestions,
Thank you,
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2347
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least open it up to see if on the, power supply especially, there are any "puffed" electrolytics. While there see if/how well sockets are labeled with voltages, pin functions, etc.
Try confirming standby voltage(s) are present all the time and any other voltages show up during the 5-10 second "start-up" period. You'll have to check for each individually with a fresh push (or two) of the power button.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 


Disclaimer: All information provided by RiddledTV is strictly for information purposes only. Please observe all warnings displayed on your electronic
devices. This information should only be used to help diagnose work, and all service should be performed by a qualified technician.
Contact Us       Privacy Policy       Copyright © 2015 RiddledTV.com       Advertise on RiddedTV.com