Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
SONY GDM-FW900 PROBLEM!    

TWIS-1986

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 4:15 pm    Post subject: SONY GDM-FW900 PROBLEM! Reply with quote

Hi all, noob here, im sorry if ive posted in the wrong section but im in need of some help, my sony gdm-fw900 crt monitor stopped working on me, the picture just went off, no bang no smoke just no picture, when i turn it on there is NO hv start up, the static thing that has to happen, and when i have the pc connected the orange lights blinks repeatedly and thats about it, if i remove one of the wires from i think its the d board that has the flyback on it i get a normal start up with degausse with the normal sounding relay click but no picture, i have some knowledge of looking inside the unit and i have a basic DMM i really dont want to throw this in the bin because its a rare monitor to come by thankyou.

ps, the flyback is making the normal sound as if its working, all 3 cathode heaters are on fine.
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

Jesse Mack

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your write-up is almost impossible to follow. (One forever running sentence)

Try this,

Disconnect any plugs from the video input 1 and 2 and turn off any connected computers.

Press the (I) (Power) button twice to turn the monitor off and then on.

Move the joystick to the right for 2 seconds before the monitor enters power saving mode.

If all four color bars appear (white,red,green.blue), the monitor is working properly. Reconnect input cables and check condition of computer(s)

Since the CRT heaters are on you have High Voltage.

If the previous does not have the bars you are going to need an O-scope.

Jesse
TWIS-1986

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote