Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics
 
   
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
   Log inLog in 
Toshiba CF30F40R TV tuner problems    
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair
 
Author Message
chumba



Joined: 01 Jul 2009
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:27 pm    Post subject: Toshiba CF30F40R TV tuner problems Reply with quote

Have a Toshiba model CF30F40R TV with tuner problems. Intermittently the picture gets white lightning bolt-like flashes on the screen with accompanying loud audio static.
Looks like this:

Link:
http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/292/200902200005.jpg
Component inputs work fine and coax connector looks mechanically solid. Problem follows on channel 3 or 4. TV will sometimes go 4 hours without this showing up and then all of a sudden starts acting up.
Have already tried resoldering the tuner pins & case/ground to the PCB and blew out the dust.
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

chumba



Joined: 01 Jul 2009
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know the test points on this tuner to check for tuner supply voltage and channel switching pulse? This tuner has an AGC adjust screw on it that I haven't touched yet.
Jesse Mack



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 600
Location: The Last Frontier

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would strongly suggest that you remove the cable box first. Hook up your DVD or VCR using RF I/O from the VCR or DVD going directly to the TV, without the Cable box in the loop, and see if the problem still exists.

Since it does not do this using other inputs you must remove the source from the equation as being the problem.

Jesse
chumba



Joined: 01 Jul 2009
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried connecting another satellite box using the RF connection and the problem still persists on the TV.
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think Jesse means you should try a totally unrelated source (DVR/VCR connected to the RF input of the TV). Unless you are SURE that those particular receivers work on another TV - in the SAME location using the SAME wiring.
For example: what if the LNA for the satellite receivers has a problem. Cool
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

chumba



Joined: 01 Jul 2009
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The TV shows the same problem using a VCR source also. It looks like the tuner freq. lock may drift while the flashing & noise is occurring - it seems to be slightly mis-tuning to the high side of Chan. 3's freq.
chumba



Joined: 01 Jul 2009
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The following DC voltages were measured on this tuner, part # EL923L2:
Pin1: 2 mV
2: +32.4 V
3: 2.9 to 4.1 V
4: 3.4 to 4.2 V
5: not connected
6: 4.7 V
7: 5.1 V
8: 6.7 V
9: 8.6 V
10: 3.0 V
11: -0.2 mV
12: 2.1 V
13: all over the place
14: - 2.0 mV and goes to -1.4 mV when CHAN+ button pressed
15: 5.0 V

Does this point to anything? I believe the 32 V is the correct supply voltage and it is there. Anything else to check?
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are POSITIVE it is the tuner that is causing the problem ... why mess around? $27.00
www.tiptoptuner.com/

To prove, I'd pull the tuner and input an I.F. signal from an Analyzer to the I.F. pin FOIL.
chumba



Joined: 01 Jul 2009
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Am not positive it is the tuner, that's what I'm trying to find out.
Don't have a signal generator...could I instead remove the TV's tuner and inject the RF output of a VCR?
JTS1957



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 2323
Location: Far, Far Away

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NO you can't.
The IF output of the VCR's tuner - MAYBE. But then you'd have to make sure you isolate one of the units from the AC outlet so you don't blow fuses when grounds are shared.

R.F. = Radio Frequency I.F.= Intermediate Frequency
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Riddled TV Repair Forum Index -> TV Repair All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Disclaimer: All information provided by RiddledTV is strictly for information purposes only. Please observe all warnings displayed on your electronic
devices. This information should only be used to help diagnose work, and all service should be performed by a qualified technician.
Contact Us       Privacy Policy       Copyright © 2015 RiddledTV.com       Advertise on RiddedTV.com