Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
Vizio E550I-B2 - Replaced LED Driver but TV went black again    

drgoats

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:30 pm    Post subject: Vizio E550I-B2 - Replaced LED Driver but TV went black again Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a Vizio E550I - B2

First time with my own TV repair. TV went black but I can still see the picture with a flashlight. From what I understand, I needed a new LED Driver. I replaced it and the TV seemed to be working fine but within 1 hour it seems like the new LED Driver is not working anymore. I am thinking that something else is causing my LED driver to break. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

JTS1957

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The LEDs inside the panel? Rolling Eyes

Version 1
Version 2
drgoats

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am a huge amateur when it comes to this, but do I have a hard time thinking that it is the LEDs that are bad considering that replacing the LED driver seemed to fix the issue initially.

Is it possible that the Power Supply is causing the problem?
JTS1957

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anything's 'possible.' Replacing a board with a 'known-good' one is the only sure way of telling if defective. You may also want to examine the connector solder joints on the PS board.

Just for grins, with your flashlight, pull up the backlight intensity control. See if it is at MAX setting.
drgoats

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The backlight is at max.

I have a little more information that may be helpful.